Monday, October 09, 2017

Never Mind The Blog Wars Update - First Turn, Ob Sec, etc.





Apologies for not posting this sooner but I haven't posted much of anything for a while now. With NMTBW just over a month away I thought I ought to clarify how the Chapter Approved updates will work at the event. For those of you who have no idea what I'm talking about please take a look before reading on.

Boots On The Ground
First off, Boots On The Ground will definitely be in use. Granted with the limited duplicates we won't see many (if any) flyer heavy lists but it's worth bearing in mind.


Objective Secured
We'll also be using the Objective Secured rule as below:


However, this will be used with the caveat that every unit in the detachment has the same faction keyword from the following list: Blood Angels, Dark Angels, Space Wolves, Deathwatch, Astra Militarum, Adeptus Mechanicus, Adeptus Ministorum, Asuryani, Drukhari, Harlequins, Chaos Daemons, Renegades & Heretics, Thousand Sons, Death Guard, Necrons, T’au Empire, Orks, <Hive Fleet>, and Genestealer Cults.

Also note: Codex: Grey Knights, Codex: Chaos Space Marines and Codex: Space Marines are explicitly not covered by Objective Secured because their Codexes provide a similar rule (i.e. Defenders of Humanity).

I haven't seen the Death Guard or Astra Militarum books yet but I'd assume they would also be exempt. Please can someone clarify for me if they have anything similar in there.

First Turn
I think at this stage it's better to stick with the original rulebook version of things. I think this is the right call for several reasons:

  1. First and foremost, NMTBW hopefully won't feature the standard tournament mentality of shooting people off the table as soon as possible. Partly because the core group of regulars are a decent group but also because of the way tabling works with the Maelstrom points.
  2. The new +1 to first turn roll-off doesn't make much sense to me when your opponent can still Seize. You've already deployed at this point so Seizing afterwards makes the roll off seem a bit daft. You've deployed not really knowing who's going first after all.
  3. It's pretty close to the event so people will have written their lists and (hopefully) already have a sizeable chunk of their force painted. Changing the mechanic now might require people to rethink and there isn't long left before the army submission deadline (28th Oct).
A Few Other Clarifications
Few quick questions from the Double Trouble/NMTBW Facebook page and emails:
  • Warlord Traits and Psychic Powers can be picked or rolled for. It's up to each player to decide how they want to generate them. Players can change these before each game if they like.
  • The Astra Militarum book will be legal at NMTBW but please try to keep filth to a minimum (same goes for all armies mind you!)
  • You can enter a model into the painting competition that doesn't feature in your tournament army. However, the Best Army Award entries must all be armies that are competing at the event.

If there's anything else you want clarifying, comment, email or ask on the FB page but do so soon so I can inform everyone of anything significant.

4 comments:

  1. The new Astra Militarum book also has Defenders of Humanity to give a form of objective secured.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. And the Death Guard get the same effect from their Plague Host Rule.

      Delete
  2. Damn it, I wish I lived closer so I could attend your tournaments !

    However I just have to quickly disagree with your First Turn reasoning, but understand with the community and ethos of your tournament it may not be so much of an issue.

    Knowing before deployment you have an 83% chance of going first leads to more aggressive set-ups leading to more 1st turn alpha strikes. The +1 mechanic means that having less deployment drops gives you an advantage in going first (as you are giving away more information to your opponent on where your army is deployed), but its not such a massive one. If you have a fragile high damage unit you're less likely to deploy it out in front ensuring its in range of the most amount of targets if the chance of going second is higher, you're more likely to give them a transport, deploy them further back and/or out of line of sight. Here's how the chances to go first changes (NB: I've assumed rerolls can not be used on the roll to go first):
    Changes to Go First if you finishes deploying first, but given the stats if you do or don't allow rerolls on the seize roll):
    Existing Rules (Seize only - no reroll allowed) = 83.3%
    Existing Rules (Seize only - reroll allowed) = 69.4%
    CHapter Approved Rules (+1, Seize, no reroll allowed) = 61.8%
    CHapter Approved Rules (+1, Seize, reroll allowed) = 56.9%

    Rathstar

    ReplyDelete
  3. That means I can’t possibly get objective secured with my custodes army.

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...