Tuesday, November 02, 2010

Freebootaz Open Doubles

We're finally biting the bullet and entering a tournament!! Matt and I will be putting together a 2x750pt BA/SW list for the Freebootaz Open on 28th November. The tournament is unfortunately in Mansfield which is bad because I'm from Chesterfield and therefore hate the place! That aside I'm really looking forward to it. It'll be interesting to see if we actually have a clue what we're doing when it comes to 40K. It's been just over a year since we started playing again so it seems a good time to test our mettle!

I can't help but wonder if there's something we've been doing wrong all these months and it'll only come up at some crucial moment. So some rule gets used wrong or a unit does something it shouldn't. A great example of this is that until recently I thought Ragnar gave Furious Charge on his counter attack but it wasn't until I blogged about him that it was pointed out to me that they updated the FAQ. Time will tell I suppose. We're busy putting a list together which we hope will be vaguely competitive. To be honest since it's our first ever tournament we'll just be happy if we at least win one game or perhaps if we can just avoid coming last!

I'd initially promised myself that I'd never put together a stats list and I'd always try and do something a bit different. However, I think at least my half of the list will be pretty pedestrian. I really want to see how good we are tactically without having to worry about how many special rules I've forgotten! We're going with BA/SW because I think they'll work well together and I'd rather be using 5th edition armies because to be frank I think the older codexes are struggling more and more with the new rules.

I really need to get cracking on my painting as we'd very much like to field a completely painted army. Wish me luck!

3 comments:

  1. We're running BA/SW at Freebootaz too. According to the rulepack, if you have a Sanguinary Priest within 6" of your Wolves then they benefit from his Furious Charge/Feel No Pain.

    If you see us there pop over and say hello!

    ReplyDelete
  2. That's what we were hoping for! The other thing we wondered is can ICs join squads from either army?

    ReplyDelete
  3. It doesn't say that they can so I'd assume that they can't...

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...